Research at IPZ

Malaria Transmission Lab

Malaria is one of the most important life-threatening infectious diseases in humans, causing over 400,000 deaths per year. While Plasmodium falciparum dominates in sub-Saharan Africa, P. vivax is responsible for most cases in many regions of Asia and South America. Over the past decade, there has been a dramatic decline in malaria cases and deaths worldwide. However, drug resistance is spreading in both parasite and vector species. The malaria parasite cycle is complex and occurs in both mammalian and mosquito hosts. Our lab uses a "systems parasitology" approach to study different aspects of parasite transmission from human (and animal) to mosquito in order to find new ways to combat malaria. Contact Prof. M. Marti

Molecular Parasitology

The main interests of our laboratory are the cell biology and biochemistry of protozoa (pathogenic protozoa), especially Giardia lamblia and Toxoplasma gondii. We investigate the molecular mechanisms and structures of host-parasite interactions relevant to the transfer of parasites to a new host. Pathogenic protozoa are parasitic single cells that interact with complex multicellular organisms at local and systemic levels. They are fascinating model systems and offer almost unlimited opportunities for the experimental study of basic systems and cell biology related to host-parasite coevolution. Contact Prof. A. Hehl

Veterinary Parasitology

Our research focuses on various aspects of parasitic infections of domestic and farm animals, with the aim of improving animal health , welfare and productivity.
We study the parasitic diseases induced by pathological and pathophysiological processes, develop and study the performance of diagnostic tools and identify appropriate therapies and control measures. We are particularly specialised in lungworms and intestinal parasites of domestic animals and in parasite management in horses and small ruminants. Contact: Dr. M. Schnyder

Vector Entomology

Infectious agents transmitted by arthropods (insects, ticks) are becoming increasingly important, also in Europe. Our research unit, established in 2007, focuses on experimental and descriptive research on various aspects (biology, physiology, vector capacity, high-throughput molecular identification with mass spectrometry, spatio-temporal distribution) of native and invasive arthropod vectors. Contact  Prof. A. Mathis

National Vector Entomology Centre (NZVE)

The NZVE is the specialist centre for arthropod vectors in animals financed by the FSVO (Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office) and the reference laboratory for animal disease and zoonosis-associated vectors. With its activities, the centre plays a central role in the early detection of vector-borne animal diseases and zoonoses. To this end, the NZVE conducts application-oriented research (experimental, descriptive) and ensures expertise in the detection of vectors in Switzerland. Kontakt: Prof. A. Mathis

Zoonosen & Translational Research

Forschung am IPZ

Zoonosen & Translational Research

Molekulare Parasitologie

Die Hauptinteressen unseres Labors sind die Zellbiologie und Biochemie von Einzellern (pathogene Protozoen), vor allem Giardia lamblia und Toxoplasma gondii. Wir untersuchen die molekularen Mechanismen und Strukturen der Wirt-Parasit-Wechselwirkungen, die für die Übertragung der Parasiten auf einen neuen Wirt relevant sind. Pathogene Protozoen sind parasitisch lebende Einzelzellen, die mit komplexen mehrzelligen Organismen auf lokaler und systemischer Ebene interagieren. Sie sind faszinierende Modellsysteme und bieten nahezu unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten für die experimentelle Untersuchung der grundlegenden System- und Zellbiologie im Zusammenhang mit der Wirt-Parasit Koevolution. Kontakt: Prof. A.B. Hehl

Veterinärparasitologie

Unsere Forschung konzentriert sich auf verschiedene Aspekte des Parasiteninfektionen der Haus- und Nutztieren, mit dem Ziel einer besseren Tiergesundheit , Tierschutz und Produktivität.
Wir untersuchen die durch pathologische und pathophysiologische Prozesse induzierten parasitären Krankheiten, entwickeln und studieren die Leistung von Diagnosetools und identifizieren geeignete Therapien und Kontrollmaßnahmen. Besonderes spezialisiert sind wir auf Lungenwürmer und Darmparasiten von Haustieren und auf Parasitenmanagement beim Pferd und kleinen Wiederkäuern. Kontakt: PD Dr. M. Schnyder

Vektor Entomologie

Infektionserreger, welche durch Arthropoden (Insekten, Zecken) übertragen werden, gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung, auch in Europa. Unsere Forschungseinheit, die im Jahr 2007 ins Leben gerufen wurde, fokussiert auf experimentelle und beschreibende Forschung zu verschiedenen Aspekten (Biologie, Physiologie, Vektor-Kapazität, molekulare Hochdurchsatz-Identifizierung mit Massenspektrometrie, räumlich-zeitliche Verteilung) von einheimischen und invasiven Arthropoden-Vektoren. Kontakt: Prof. A. Mathis

Nationales Zentrum für Vektor Entomologie (NZVE)

Das NZVE ist die vom BLV (Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen) finanzierte Fachstelle für Arthropoden-Vektoren beim Tier und das Referenzlaboratorium für Tierseuchen- und Zoonosen-assoziierte Vektoren. Das Zentrum übernimmt mit seinen Tätigkeiten eine zentrale Rolle bei der Früherkennung von vektor-übertragenen Tierkrankheiten und Zoonosen. Dazu führt das NZVE anwendungsorientierte Forschung durch (experimentell, deskriptiv) und sichert die Fachkompetenz für das Erkennen von Vektoren in der Schweiz. Kontakt: Prof. A. Mathis